top of page
  • Writer's pictureJorryn

Blog post 10 - Response to Wikipedia Viral Marketing

After reading the wikipedia post on viral marketing, I have realized that in some ways the community I researched uses this method. They have tons of posts on different events that people can attend, with all the information on where and what time people should go. That way people can send links, even to their friends who are outside the community. I thought the “Influencers” section of the page was very interesting. I watch a lot of youtubers, and thinking about it I realized just how often I experience viral marketing. Advertising happens on a daily basis, even subliminally. It’s worked on me before too, I get all of my makeup advice from youtubers. I also thought it was interesting how widespread viral marketing has become. Today, actually, I saw a video that I realized was a form of viral marketing advertising a movie. I can see how effective it can be, especially if you form a partnership with a bigger influencer. Youtubers often sneak in advertisements at the end of their videos, and at that point you’re already invested so you just end up watching it. Also, I’ve seen lots of videos where companies make an attempt at viral marketing, and people end up leaving scathing reviews. So, it’s pretty risky.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page