top of page
  • Writer's pictureJorryn

Blog Post 7 - Response to BBG Chapter 13

Updated: Jul 11, 2018

BBG Chapter 13 helps you analyze reasons for including sources in different ways. The first way is with a direct quote. This way, you maintain the tone of the original author, and you gain a little ethos out of it. In my project, a good time to use this might be a direct quote from a speaker at a protest organized by the College Democrats, because the summarizing a quote like that probably won’t carry the tone over very well, and the impact of the statement won’t be as strong. Another way to include sources is through paraphrasing. In this method, you transfer the author’s ideas and details into your own words. This method might be useful if I was hypothetically taking a quote from a speech given by a member or visiting politician and transferring into a slightly more casual tone, rather than very formal. The next way is through summarization. In this, you summarize the author’s ideas without including specific details. This would be useful if I thought that only one part of a text was important, or if I felt the details would not be useful to proving my point in my paper and only make it drag on.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog post 10 - Response to Wikipedia Viral Marketing

After reading the wikipedia post on viral marketing, I have realized that in some ways the community I researched uses this method. They have tons of posts on different events that people can attend,

bottom of page